Italian Easter Bread, Chocolate Dipped Oreo’s, and Bunny Cookie Bark…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

This week in honor of the Easter holiday I decided to make Italian Easter bread, chocolate dipped Oreo’s, and bunny cookie bark.  I make the bread every year.  It began back when Victoria made her first communion.  Prior to her actual communion, we attended “The Jesus Day Retreat.”  It was an all day retreat in which we participated in a bunch of activities, and then she made her first confession.  One of the activities was bread making.  We watched a video titled “Grandma’s Bread.”  In the movie after a young boy’s Grandma passes away, he teaches his parents to make her special bread.  After watching the movie, the kids made the bread featured in the video. Since that Easter season, I make the bread every year. Last month, I attended the same retreat with Ryan, in preparation for his first communion.  Just like Victoria, he requested we make the bread to celebrate Easter.  It is yummy, and quite pretty too.  We always glaze our bread after it is baked, as we like it a little bit sweeter.  I also add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the dough.  Here is the link to the recipe that we used: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Italian-Easter-Bread

The other two recipes are new to me.  Every year, in addition to store-bought goodies, I make a few scrumptious treats to add to the Easter baskets for my niece and nephew. In the past I have made chocolate bunny suckers, and cookies to add to their baskets.  This year I wanted to try something new.  A few weeks ago I saw a couple of Easter themed recipes on “Pinterest” so I decided to give them a try. The first was for chocolate dipped Oreo’s.  It’s pretty simple actually.  You just dip the Oreo’s in melted chocolate and then top with sprinkles. The second recipe for bunny cookie bark is really simple too.  I love love love salty and sweet together, so this recipe appealed to me right away.  You simply mix crushed Oreo’s and pretzels, with M&M’s.  Then everything gets covered in white chocolate…YUM! I found this recipe on “Pinterest” too.  Here are the links to the recipes that I used: http://picky-palate.com/2010/03/30/white-fudge-dipped-easter-oreos/   and   http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/bunny-cookie-bark/

The kids are on spring break.  I love love love when they are home.  I really wanted to go on a little vacation this year, but it didn’t work out. In retrospect, I guess I am glad that we ended up staying home.  Last week on Thursday night, I had to take Victoria to urgent care.  Her diagnosis?  Strep throat.  Then this week on Tuesday, Ryan took his turn at the pediatrician.  His diagnosis? Ear infection and sinus infection.  Also this week, Dan had a 20 hour migraine…ya know just to keep things interesting.  As I type this, Dan and Victoria are getting ready to go get their allergy shots.  Just this morning, we had to turn Victoria’s shot appointment into an actual appointment with the allergist as her asthma is out of control.  This usually happens when she gets sick, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Also this week, I had to get a filling …don’t even get me started on the damn dentist!  We literally just paid off my HUGE dental bill from last fall, and now I will have another balance as my ridiculous dental insurance won’t cover porcelain fillings…not even if you are allergic to the amalgam they use!  Add to that a vehicle in the shop, and the fact that I still had to work this week.  That in a nutshell, was how we spent our “spring break!” I know I could have scheduled the car repair, the filling, and the allergy shots for another time, BUT I would have been so pi$$ed if we spent money on a trip only to have 3 of the 4 of us get sick.  Truth be told, this happens almost every time we have “a break.”  Christmas break, mid-winter break, and spring break, almost always include a trip to the doctor and a few prescriptions.  I guess we are just lucky like that….jealous? I swear I am going to invent a font just for sarcasm.

I know I should be grateful that we didn’t have to contend with school on top of all the nonsense that we had to endure this week, but I would really love to have an actual “break” sometime when that kids are off of school.  Despite all the “ridulocity” of the week (I love inventing words☺) we did manage to squeeze in a few happy things.  For starters the kids made me chocolate chip cookies while I was at work. Home-made chocolate chip cookies are my favorite dessert in the whole world.  The cookies didn’t exactly turn out how they wanted them to though.  Long story short, the kids melted the butter instead of just softening it.  So the cookies were really flat and actually melted off the pan onto that bottom of the oven.  The kids were able to salvage some cookie blobs for me.  They don’t look pretty but they are DELICIOUS!

Dutchess giving Ryan a smooch♥

Also, we took the kids to the movies to see “Mirror, Mirror.”  I had high hopes as I love love love fairy tales and storybook tales remade into movies.  I enjoyed “Enchanted,” “Alice in Wonderland,” and “Little Red Riding Hood.”  I also love the story of “Snow White” so I was sure this movie would be good.  Nope.  The only good thing about the movie was the popcorn.  Additionally, we got to meet “Louie.”  Louie is a one pound ball of furry adorable-ness. Our good friends the Phillips family got a puppy, and we were dying to meet him.  Louie is a Yorkie and is only 9 weeks old.  I have only seen a dog that tiny one other time in my life.  He is the size of a really tiny kitten…so cute!  When I was growing up, my family always had dogs…big dogs.  I mean if a small child couldn’t actually ride the dog like a pony, it probably wasn’t big enough. Even today my Dad has a bull mastiff named “Duchess.”  She is mammoth.  That said, despite her intimidating size, she is extremely sweet.  Truth be told, my blind 17-year-old cat is probably more brazen than she is.  She truly is a gentle giant, and we adore her. That is the type of dog I am used to…big…huge…did I mention big? Louie is probably as big as of Duchie’s ears. ☺Anyway, we loved meeting Louie and we always love hanging out with the Phillips.

Yesterday after meeting Louie, we came home and got to work on all of our Easter tasks.  We made the Easter bread, colored eggs, and I made another batch of the bunny cookie bark and dipped the Oreo’s.  Tonight I will put together Yvonne and Ian’s baskets, and then we will go to bed semi-early in eager anticipation of the bunny’s visit to our house. Victoria and Ryan are usually up before the sun on Christmas and Easter, so I am sure tomorrow will be no exception.  I hope you all have a happy Easter filled with family, love, and some really delicious treats!

Enjoy!! ♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Bread / Muffins, Candies, Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Italian Easter Bread, Chocolate Dipped Oreo’s, and Bunny Cookie Bark…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. Hi Mama! It’s Veebis! I love these treats so much!!!!!!! They are perfect for Easter and a delicious treat to eat!!!!!! Great blog!!!! Our uh-oh cookies turned out to be god though. I was surprised! :):):):):):):):):):):):)♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  2. Thanks Vic. love you too xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

