Wild Blueberry Cake…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

This Sunday I made wild blueberry cake.  Today is Dan’s birthday and he requested this cake.  I always always honor birthday requests, so I was happy to make this cake for Dan to celebrate his birthday. I have made it a several times in the past, but it has been a few years since I last baked it.  I am happy to report that it is just as yummy as we remembered, and Dan loved it.  It has been a crazy couple of days in the Sutherland house.  On Saturday morning Dan and Victoria had to go for their allergy shots.  While they were on the second floor of the medical center, I had Ryan on the first floor at the urgent care.  He has been complaining of a sore throat, and I am always petrified of strep throat.  We’ve unfortunately had pretty bad luck with strep in our house…one year we passed it around 9 times between September and March…YIKES! Since then, I always err in the way of caution and make doctor appointments to rule it out.  Fortunately, Ryan doesn’t have strep throat and is feeling much better.  Victoria on the other hand has a sinus infection (poor thing), and she is on an antibiotic.  I got this crazy tummy ache on Saturday that lasted until this morning.  Now I am the unlucky recipient of another case of kidney stones!  I am glad that it isn’t anything serious, but honestly kidney stones suck! So with all of that going on, poor Dan hasn’t had a very festive birthday.  In lieu of all the craziness, I was super happy that the wild blueberry cake made his birthday a little more special.

I love love love baking birthday cakes.  I always ask the special birthday person what kind of cake they want, and then do my level best to honor their request.  In all honestly, my kids usually pick something pretty simple.  For instance,  Ryan (my little man with the “white bread” palate) usually requests white or yellow cake with vanilla frosting.  Victoria, my little “sweet tooth” usually requests yellow cake with chocolate frosting. Simple right? Needless to say I am happy to make whatever they request,  but I do love to switch gears and make something a little less ordinary.  In the last few years I have been challenged a bit more by their requests.  Last May for Ryan’s 8th birthday he requested a “camo cake”as he wanted a “G.I.  Joe/Army” theme.    The year before that he wanted Batman cake.  I was super excited to attempt to make those cakes and they came out pretty good.  

For the last few years Victoria has expanded her requests as well  to include a “cookie cake”, and a “pretty in pink” dessert bar.  I have to admit that the new requests do make me a little nervous as I never want to underwhelm anyone with a birthday cake. So despite my excitement to try something new, I am also afraid to mess it up. 

This year for Dan’s birthday I wasn’t nervous at all, however, as I had made the cake multiple times before.  So I just concentrated on adding all the ingredients that the recipe required.  I did add an ingredient that was all my own too…that ingredient of course was love. ♥♥

Here is the recipe for Wild Blueberry Cake:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 TBS. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs or egg substitute to equal 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup oil (I always use applesauce instead of oil)
  • 1 cup milk (I use organic skim milk)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups blueberries (I used organic frozen wild blueberries but fresh can be used as well)
  • 3/4 tsp. nutmeg

Combine flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl and mix.  Add eggs, applesauce or oil, milk, and vanilla; mix well. Fold in blueberries; pour into a greased 13×9 baking pan and set aside.  Combine the remaining sugar and nutmeg; sprinkle over batter. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.  Enjoy ♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild Blueberry Cake…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

  1. Nicole Kempski says:

    Mmmm… that looks delicious! I love birthday cakes, too!

  2. Amy says:

    Looks yum to me!!
    Happy Christmas!
    Love Amy

  3. Thank you for making my favorite cake! It was even better than I remember it! ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

