Home-Made Pop Tarts…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

Hot fudge sundae pop tarts

This week I chose to bake home-made pop tarts. I came across some recipes on-line a few weeks ago, and I knew immediately that I had to try to make them.  I love “Pop Tarts.”  What I do not love are the ingredients in “Pop Tarts.” Truly, there is nothing redeeming about a store-bought “Pop Tart.”  They are loaded with sugar, fat, carbs, and over processed everything.  Unfortunately, my kids love “Pop Tarts” too.  They always beg me to buy them, and about once a year I relent, and let them buy a box.  Victoria usually wants “Chocolate Chip Pop Tarts”, and Ryan (a boy after my own heart) usually wants “Hot Fudge Sundae Pop Tarts”…YUM!  When I was little I loved “Chocolate Fudge” or “Blueberry Pop Tarts”, and  Dan loved “Strawberry” or “Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop Tarts.”  So today as a treat to celebrate the last day of winter break, we decided to try to replicate a few of our favorite “Pop Tart” flavors.  All of the “Pop Tarts” we made at home came out pretty yummy, but our collective favorite flavor was hot fudge sundae.  DELICIOUS!!!

Nutella pop tarts

In addition to the “Pop Tart” experiment, I also introduced the kids to “Pee Wee Herman.”  We watched “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.”  Every now and then our satellite provider offers it’s customers a few weeks of free “movie channels.”  During that time I usually DVR everything we are interested in watching.  I DVR’d  “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure” fully intending to watch it with the kids, and today we finally got to see it.  They both laughed and thought it was funny.  Even now as I type this blog, they are watching it again…for the third time today!  I think I may have opened a can of worms as they have imitated “Pee Wee,”  imitated his laugh, and repeated funny lines from the movie ALL DAY!  As soon as Dan got home from work, they wanted to talk about the movie, and show him all their favorite parts.  Dan is sitting with them now as they watch the movie for the third time today, and he is chuckling right along with them.

When I told the kids that this movie was released in 1985, Ryan said “Whoa… that was a long time ago!” It cracks me up that to my children, “the 80’s” was a long time ago.  I remember “the 80’s” like it was yesterday.  I love love love the 80’s. I loved the 80’s during the 80’s, and I love the 80’s now.  I love the music, I love the movies, I love all the pop culture, and I love some of the fashions that “those of us that were teenagers in the 80’s made popular.”  Not long ago I went into Claire’s with Victoria, and I swear it was like a step back in time.  Other than the “Justin Bieber” paraphernalia, it looked just like it did when I used to shop at Claire’s. In fact, I discouraged Victoria from buying a few things as I offered to give her my jewelry.  Yes I saved most of my jewelry from my teen age years, and I am glad that I did.  She loved it and took most of it from me.  Some of the earrings are a bit too big for an eleven year old, but she took them anyway and vowed to wear them when she is older. ☺  Also, last week the middle school had spirit week, and Monday was “neon day.”  When Victoria told me about neon day I panicked a little as she didn’t own anything neon.  I was sure I’d hunt high and low and come up short.  Surprisingly, Target and Meijer had a ton to pick from.  Florescent is a look that I was sure wouldn’t make a come back, but I was wrong.  Victoria looked pretty cute decked out in all her neon clothes…it’s too bad that I didn’t save all my florescent clothes from the 80’s too. ☺

Victoria's purse aka my childhood purse

Speaking of clothes, I actually do have a few pieces of clothing left over from the 80’s.  I have a skirt that I bought at Jean Nicole, and I have a shirt from Express.  I bought the skirt in the 9th grade, and the shirt in the 11th grade.  I wear the shirt as a night-shirt and Dan affectionately named it “old faithful.” I also have a ton of socks from the 80’s that Victoria now wears. Her two favorite pairs of my socks from the 80’s are a pair of knee-high candy cane Christmas socks, and a pair of black anklets with big white polka dots. I also have a few purses from the 80’s and of course Victoria loves those too.  In fact, the purse that she uses for school, is my purse from my childhood.  It is purple corduroy and it is embroidered with a “C.”  My Aunt Pat bought it for me from a craft show back in the 80’s and I saved it.  When Victoria found it, she asked if she could have it, and now she uses it everyday. ☺

As I mentioned above, I love almost everything from the 80’s.  I think my absolute favorite event of the 80’s took place in 1985.  It was September, and I had just started a new school.  I was in my first hour biology class, and I met the nicest guy.  His name was Dan Sutherland.  At the moment, that guy is laying on our couch,  watching”Pee Wee’s Big Adventure” with our children, and eating home-made Pop Tarts. ♥

Here are some links to a few of the recipes that I found:

http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-pop-tarts-297282#ixzz1meUfVrTJ

http://mochithoughts.com/2011/04/homemade-nutella-pop-tarts/

http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/04/homemade-pop-tarts/

I made a bunch of different flavors of pop tarts.  I made Nutella pop tarts, chocolate pop tarts, s’more pop tarts, strawberry pop tarts, and hot fudge sundae pop tarts.  Also, I did make a few substitutions.   First, I didn’t make the dough, I used pre-made frozen pie crust.  Additionally, I couldn’t find a recipe for hot fudge sundae pop tarts, so I made one up.  I used 1 1/2 TBS. of Hershey’s Hot Fudge Sauce, and a couple of tablespoons of marshmallow fluff.  For the strawberry pop tarts I used Smuckers sugar-free strawberry preserves.  For the chocolate pop tarts, I used mini semi sweet chocolate chips.  For the glaze, I used 1/2 cup milk and about  1 tsp of powdered sugar. Admittedly, these home- made pop tarts are not healthy, but I did use a lot less sugar and fat than their store bought counterparts.  Another huge improvement is that my home-made pop tarts do not contain gelatin…GROSS!  Lastly, my ingredients are a ton “cleaner” and organic whenever possible.

Enjoy! ♥

Strawberry pop tarts

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Pies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home-Made Pop Tarts…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

  1. Thanks for sharing! I love reading your blog… I love the 80’s too… but I guess you already knew that!

  2. Dean says:

    I just checked the ingredients for store bought Pop Tarts. I was surprised to find “Love” on the ingredient list. However, it was like the last item meaning they didn’t use very much “Love”. I know that “Love” would be higher on your ingredient list as you buy it from Costco and have an abundant supply!

    • Wow you must have found a box of “magic” pop tarts, because the store bought ones I have seen, never ever include love. My first and most important ingredient is always l♥ve…then I add a healthy dose of kindness and liquid hugs xo

  3. I love the blog and pop-tarts, loved the 80’s, and love that meeting me was your favorite event of the 80’s! ♥ That’s a lot of love in one sentence! It’s hard for me to choose a favorite event from the 80’s…meeting you, dating you, countless other events with you. I guess none of the others would have happened without first meeting you. Thanks to Miss Ryniak for sitting us at the same lab table, but I think I would have noticed you the first day anyway….your beautiful eyes and the “blonde patch” in your hair were hard to miss. ☺ xoxo

  4. Thanks Dan. I hope you don’t miss the blonde patch too much. Hopefully now my gray patches will suffice. xo

Leave a Reply

