Lemon Bread…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

Happy Leap Day! I think leap year is so weird.  Okay so I “Googled” it,  and I learned that we are trying to keep the seasons and the calendar in check.  I mean Christmas is supposed to be in the winter, and Independence Day should be in the summer, so every four years we add an extra day to keep it all straight.  Honestly though with all this crazy weather we are having, pretty soon it will be 90 degrees at Christmastime anyway. Oh well, an extra day is never a bad thing so Happy February 29th.  The past week has been a mixed bag.  Thankfully Victoria and Ryan are finally feeling better, but other than that the past week has been like a lemon…sour and a bit difficult to palate without shuddering.  I love the saying “when life gives you lemons make lemonade” so as I thought about the past week,  I knew I had to make some sort of recipe that incorporated lemons. So here is my mantra for the week…”when life hands me lemons…I make lemon bread.”  I would rather say “when life hands me lemons I grab some tequila and salt and do shots,”  but it’s only Wednesday, and doing shots during the week is never a smart idea, so lemon bread it is.☺

I have mentioned previously that I am the President of our school’s parent group.  I really enjoy it.  I love helping out, I love supporting the staff and administration in our school, and I love love love watching all the kids have a good time.  What I do not love, however, is all the drama. I swear I never knew that so much drama could exist in my adult life.  Don’t misunderstand, I am not creating the drama. That said, I do have to deal with it.  You see, I am the President.  I guess that means that various people, who I believed to be my friends, were merely “buddying up to the ‘President'”, not befriending me…Chris.  They appear to be more interested in having an inside track than being friends.  I have been playing this ridiculous game since last spring when I was elected President, and now I am just plain tired of it.  I cannot believe that grown women can be so eff’ing ridiculous and petty.  I swear I would not know how to begin to operate that way.  They have really pushed the limits of decency this week.  So much so that they have begun making wild accusations about other women in the group that I firmly believe are untrue.  In reflecting on all of this bull$h*^,  here is what I have come up with.  I know it’s a bit controversial to say it out loud, but at this point I do not care because unfortunately in this case, it is the absolute truth.  They are bored stay at home Moms with nothing better to do.  There I said it.  Don’t get me wrong I love love love stay at home Moms (and Dads☺), in fact I wish I was one. I admire women and men who sacrifice their careers to be home with their children.  It’s cliché I know, but it really is the hardest, and most important job on the planet. Unfortunately the particular people I am referring to, only taint the title of stay at home Mom.  They revive the image that I remember from my own childhood, of “housewives” gossiping and plotting over the backyard fence.  These people don’t gossip over the fence though, they use the school parking lot as a staging ground for their attacks.  They use our parent group meetings as a means of collecting information, only to then mangle it and turn it against anyone who isn’t in complete agreement with their sinister and vicious agendas. In short, they are terrorists who lay in wait, and then pounce whenever they deem fit. I realize that this sounds extreme, comparing them to terrorists, but unfortunately they operate the same way.  They don’t consider the innocent bystanders (the kids), they disregard human kindness and decency (by creating dishonest and hurtful rumors), and they are motivated solely by their own ridiculous ideas. In my opinion, no one ever wins at a game like this. Why engage in a pissing contest?  I mean even if you win you still get wet…and it’s piss lest we forget!

I for one have refused to engage. I am sure this would make my Mom extremely proud, as she was the consummate peace keeper, but truthfully all this “taking the high road” makes me want to scream.  I do not want my inactivity to be mistaken for weakness or ignorance.

Me getting all Batman!

I know exactly what is going on.   I have consciously chosen not to engage. I know this is the right move, but it still makes my blood boil. I would love to get all “Batman” on their a$$es and just go nuts.  Not physically of course, but an all out ninja style verbal attack would be so much fun!  Okay back to reality. I of course, will do no such thing.  I will not attack.  I will not get all “Batman on anyone’s a$$.”  I will not go “crazy white girl” while performing any duties related to the presidency.  I will not respond with anything other than tact, impartiality, and professionalism.  True I may draw blood whilst biting my own tongue, but I will not be party to emotional terrorism. You see I don’t negotiate with terrorists.  I simply take the proverbial lemons that they have hurled at me, and make the most delicious lemon bread you have ever tasted. ♥

Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lemon-bread/

I did make a few substitutions.  I used Earth Balance vegan shortening.  I also used white whole wheat flour as opposed to all purpose flour. Lastly, I ommitted the nuts. Haha pun intended ; )

Enjoy! ♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Bread / Muffins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemon Bread…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

  1. Dean says:

    Alright, you said there were multiple references to me, so I’m going to try to figure them all out:

    – eff’ing ridiculous
    -pushed the limits of decency
    -stay at home Moms (and Dads☺)
    -taint
    -Batman
    -whilst
    -nuts

    All words or phrases taken directly from the blog that I assume you used to reference me. How’d I do?

    (BTW – Don’t forget that these terrorists can be taken out for a price and that price is lemon bread!) : )

  2. Dean you are too funny! You were correct about the stay at home Moms and Dads, Batman, and whilst. The other things are funny but I didn’t intend them to refer to you. ; ) I don’t want them taken out per se…I’d just love to see them gainfully employed and therefore too busy to continue with the unsolicited attacks.☺

  3. Char says:

    Why does sh*t like that always happen in groups? Every group has a few who enjoy and thrive on conflict. Sometimes women are their own worst enemies ! Hang in there , Batwoman !!

    • Not sure what the phenomenon is…I suspect it has something to do with all the women in the groups. I hate to be a traitor to our gender, but this doesn’t happen with men…go figure.

Leave a Reply

