Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Cookies…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

This week I decided to bake cookies.  In truth I miss baking cookies.  In my previous blog, “Cookie of the Week,” I baked a new cookie every week for a whole year.  In the current blog, I have only baked cookies three times to date…this entry included.  Once you get used to doing something on a regular basis, it’s sort of strange when you stop. Well that’s how I feel about baking cookies. Over the weekend while we were at the grocery store, my sweet Victoria was pestering me to buy cookies.  Except for Oreo’s, I don’t really like store-bought cookies. Okay so I also like Fig Newtons, but that’s about it.  My kids on the other hand, LOVE cookies…home-made or store-bought…it makes no difference to them. Even when I was baking cookies every week, they’d still request cookies when we were at the grocery store.  CRAZY!  Well I refused those requests.  I mean really???  Buy cookies from the grocery store when there are yummy home-made cookies at home??? I don’t think so.  Don’t feel too bad for Victoria and Ryan, my children are not deprived in the least.  We still have a huge jar full of candy left over from Halloween, Christmas, and Valentine’s Day! Additionally, we have open boxes of Girl Scout Cookies in the pantry, and even more Girl  Scout Cookies in the freezer. (FYI Girl Scout Cookies freeze beautifully.)  So the last thing I was going to buy at the grocery store was cookies. That said, I did sort of want to bake cookies, and truth be told, the Girl Scout cookies just aren’t doing it for me.  I can’t believe I said that, but it is true.

My Girl Scout Troop at their cookie booth.

I bought Girl Scout cookies when my troop was selling them.  I always buy Girl Scout Cookies.  Even before Victoria was a Girl Scout I’d buy them. I mean how can you say no to those adorable little faces?  Prior to succumbing to the angelic faces of local Girl Scouts, I was a Girl Scout myself.  So since I was about 6 years old, I have regularly supported Girl Scouts, and purchased cookies.  This year, however, I am unhappy to report that I am not impressed.  I bought the same flavors that I always buy, Thin Mints, Samoas, and Tag-A-Longs, but after eating a few I was just like…”eh…just okay.”  Maybe I have been spoiled as in the last year I have baked over 60 different varieties of cookies.  Perhaps the allure is gone.  OR maybe I am finally growing up.  WAIT… what??  I know it’s kind of a stretch, but hang in there while I try to explain.

When we “grow up” we put aside childish things.  Well I am choosing to put aside things that no longer bring me happiness. You see I am forty…the BIG 40, over the hill or at least at the top of the hill (“…you should see what it looks like from up here” intentional “A Christmas Story” reference☺), middle-aged, seasoned,…oh what the hell… I am old.  At least theoretically speaking.  I don’t feel old (most of the time), and I don’t look old…yet, but, truth be told, I am getting up there.  I am too old for a lot of things.  For example, I am too old to wear mini skirts.  In my opinion, no one over the age of 35 should be in any skirt or dress where the hem is above the knee.  Varicose veins and old lady legs are not cute.☺ I am too old to wear huge earrings, like the kind I wore in high school.  I am too old to wear big flowers in my hair, like the kind my sweet Victoria always dons. I am too old to run apparently, (see last week’s blog YIKES!) AND I am too old to spend my time doing things or eating things I don’t really care for. In the past, I have said yes to things, when I really meant no.  I have attended events just out of obligation. I have eaten certain foods just so as to not hurt someone’s feelings, or cause issues.  Well my friends, those days are over…for the most part anyway.  I am too old to do that anymore.  My time on this planet is fleeting.  Essentially, half of my life is over.  I shared in my past blog titled “Quinoa Salad”, that I fear that I will die young.  With that sentiment in mind, it is completely possible that MORE than half of my life is already over. That said, I feel it is even more important that I honor my true self, my true wants, and my true feelings. If I don’t want to attend something, I probably won’t.  If I don’t want to do something, I’ll most likely say no.  If I am not in the mood for a piece of cake, I’ll just say “no thank you,” AND that’ll have to be good enough.

To quote one of my favorite authors Dr. Seuss, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.” Well I am attempting to have that quote be my personal mantra these days. I lived the first 40 years of my life trying to make friends, create a family, and build a good reputation for myself.  Honestly, I am no longer concerned with making friends.  I already have great friends.  If I never acquire another new friendship, that’s okay with me.  I have a wonderful family, and I love spending time with them.  Victoria and Ryan are no longer babies.  So now instead of meeting every single one of their needs, I can devote my time to being with them in a real give and take kind of way.  My good friend Connie told me a number of years ago that “…having a real conversation with your kid is so great.” Well I agree.  I love talking with the kids and getting their take on things. I love experiencing new things with them. I love introducing them to things that I like, that they are now old enough to enjoy with me. My reputation speaks for itself.  Professionally, I have a good reputation, and I am grateful for that.  Personally…well… I will never make everyone happy, so I am done trying.  This is me…take it or leave it. Either way is fine with me, because “…those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”  In keeping with that mantra, I am never wasting calories on store-bought cookies, or Girl Scout cookies again…unless of course I want to.☺

Here is the link to the recipe that I used:http://picky-palate.com/2011/02/17/reeses-peanut-butter-cup-cookies-literally-2-ingredients/

The cookies taste like a peanut butter cookie.  They taste good, but I was expecting spectacular.  Going forward, I’ll just make regular peanut butter cookies, and add a mini Reeses Peanut Butter cup in the center right as the cookies come out of the oven.

Enjoy! ♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reeses Peanut Butter Cup Cookies…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. Dean says:

    a great man once said, “Be yourself, no matter what they say…WOH OHH”

  2. HA! I met that great man on a walk… a LONG time ago : )

  3. Hi mama! It’s Veeberston! I can’t believe you didn’t care for these cookies! I loved them!!!!!!!!!♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ 🙂

  4. Hey Veeberston…I thought they were just alright…glad you liked them! Love you xo

Leave a Reply

