Flourless Chocolate Cake…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

This week I decided to bake a flourless chocolate cake.  Why?? I don’t know.  A few weeks ago I started thinking about flourless chocolate cake totally out of the blue.  It just popped into my head one day.  It was right around the time I started thinking about doughnuts.  Like I mentioned in the doughnut blog, the process usually goes like this. I’ll get a random thought about a recipe that I want to try, and then I mull it over for a bit.  Usually I borderline on obsessive in my thoughts about the potential recipe.  I read and reread the recipe.  I do an internet search. I peruse my already HUMONGOUS collection of cookbooks and recipe binders. I check the ingredient list and then make sure I have all the ingredients in my pantry.  If I don’t already have them, I add them to one of my shopping lists.  (As a side note, I have 5 shopping lists going at all times.  Kroger, Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, Costco, and Sam’s Club. I am nothing if not organized. ☺)  This process usually spans a few hours to a few days or weeks…depending solely on my schedule, and the intensity of the obsession. ☺

This flourless chocolate cake obsession began a few weeks ago.  I don’t even know how it started.  I just had the thought one day…flourless chocolate cake…hmm…okay.  Then I thought about it again the next day and the day after that.  Then I got sidetracked by doughnuts and cookies, thus the last two dessert blogs.  Yesterday, however, I woke up thinking about flourless chocolate cake again. I kept it on the proverbial back burner until I was confronted with it again while I was reading.  To preface, I had no ambitions of doing a whole lot yesterday.  To start with, Dan had a coach’s meeting in the morning (he coaches Ryan’s soccer team.) Then, unfortunately our turtle, Mr. Pop, passed away.  He was a great turtle.  My parents bought him for me when I was the same age as Victoria, during the summer before I began sixth grade.  That same summer, my sister Amy, my cousin Matthew, and my childhood BFF Tracey, also got turtles. By the end of the summer, my turtle was the lone survivor.  That said, he did tempt fate a few times.  For instance he escaped from his habitat more than once.  Our family had 2 big dogs at the time, and I am still frankly shocked that they didn’t eat him.  One time, he escaped and hid under an area rug that was under an end table in my family’s living room.  I tore the house apart looking for him, and when I did find him I thought he was dead.  In actuality he was hibernating.  I was a relatively uninformed turtle owner, so I had no idea that when turtles get too cold, they hibernate. Some time after that, after that he contracted an eye infection and refused to eat.  One night I came home from work to find my Mom feeding Pop with a toothpick.  His eye was swollen shut and he could not see to eat, so she broke the food into pieces and fed him with a toothpick.  Sweet right?  I think so.

When I went away to college, my Mom took care of Pop.  When Dan and I were first married, and lived in an apartment, Mom took care of Pop.  After we purchased our first home, Pop was a house-warming gift of sorts. We took him off her hands, and from then on Dan took over the maintenance of his habitat.  Pop wasn’t a very friendly turtle when he was out of his habitat.  He bit my Mom on more that one occasion, and he bit Dan too. That said when he was in his tank, he was more than happy to follow you if you entered the room, or interacted with him.  In fact, the kids used to read to him, and Victoria played her viola for him all the time.  He was a permanent resident in Victoria’s room from the time she moved into her “big girl bed” and out of her crib.  He was a member of the family for 29 years, and we are all sad to see him go.  We were pretty upset yesterday when we discovered that he had died, but we gave him a really nice burial.  That helped the kids a lot.  After that, I didn’t have too much energy for anything else. BUT I still had “Mall Frenzy” to attend.

For those of you unfamiliar with the event, “Mall Frenzy” is just what it sounds like. Approximately 1400 Girl Scouts were locked into Lakeside Mall from 10:00 p.m. until 4:00 a.m.  Certain stores were open and offered discounts.  The food court was open.  There was karaoke, a magician, self-defense classes, yoga and Zumba instructions, 2 movies, and a whole ton of peppy Girl Scouts.  The girls had a blast. My good friend and co-leader Sheila (aka Shirley), and I (aka Laverne) had a good time as well.  So in preparation of the LONG night ahead of me, I attempted to lay low for the day.  I did try to sleep but I couldn’t, so I read.  I actually finished my second book of the week, titled “Something Blue.”  If you haven’t ever read it, I highly recommend it.  It is the second book in a series by Emily Giffin.  The first book is titled “Something Borrowed.”  My good friend and fellow avid reader Tia, recommended that I read the series, and I am glad that she did.  I really enjoyed it.  The reason I mention it here is that in “Something Blue,”  the main character Darcy, goes out to dinner with her boyfriend in London (one of my favorite cities in the whole world!!!) They have an extremely elegant meal followed up by a magnificient dessert of…you guessed it…FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE!!!!!! Man what a coincidence!

Well that did it…now I HAD to make the cake. It was like a sign or something. I have these experiences in which I will have a premonition about something, only to then be confronted with the concept again and again. It’s kind of a crazy story…one that I will save for another blog.  Anyway, after I recovered a bit from last night’s frenzy, I decided to make the cake.  I had all the ingredients already in the kitchen, and the recipe seemed fairly straight forward.  All I can say is…YUM what a cake.  It is very dense and extremely rich.  If you like chocolate, particularly dark chocolate, you will love this cake! It was really easy to make and was absolutely delicious with a little scoop of raspberry sorbet. I will definitely make this again.  If there is any downside to the whole experience, it is that the recipe only yields one 8 inch cake.  That said, because it is so rich, you only need a small piece to feel satisfied. Here is a link to the recipe that I used: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Flourless-Chocolate-Cake-14478#ixzz1hwRP7CVn

Enjoy!! ♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flourless Chocolate Cake…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. Hi Mama! It’s Veebis! I loved this cake!!!!!!! This was so good and the chocolate was so good!!!! Luv u!

  2. Thanks Vic…I really liked it too. Love you honey!

Leave a Reply

