New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

I am so happy to feature my favorite dessert in the whole world in this week’s blog. I love love love chocolate chip cookies, and was really excited to try this recipe.  I was browsing Pinterest, and came across a picture of chocolate chip cookies that looked absolutely heavenly. I pinned the recipe to my cookie board to save for a later date. That later date was this past Saturday.  We were invited to a get together at Rob and Jeannie Brnjac’s house, and I wanted to make cookies to take with us.  I immediately thought of this recipe. Saturday was a busy day.  My Girl Scout troop had a trip planned to the nail salon.  The girls decided to spend their profit from the annual cookie sale on mani’s, pedi’s, and lunch.  So for the first part of the day I was with the girls.  I figured I’d have just enough time to bake a batch of cookies before the get together, so as soon as I got home, I got to work.  I haven’t made chocolate chip cookies in a few months, so the fam was super excited for me to get started.  As I mentioned above, chocolate chip cookies are my favorite dessert in the whole world, so I always have the ingredients on hand to make them.  This recipe was a little different in that in called for coarse sea salt, and a TON of chocolate.  I have to admit that I didn’t read the recipe’s instructions until I was in the kitchen making the cookies.  That was a mistake.  After I got all the ingredients measured and mixed, I was ready to preheat the oven.  It was while I was reading the recipe to find the baking temperature, that I noticed that the dough needed to be chilled for a minimum of 24-36 hours!  What?!?!?!  I’ve never baked chocolate chip cookies where the dough needed to be chilled first.  Well by this time I was out of time…literally.  I did not have enough time left to make another batch of cookies to take to the party, so “the Cookie Mama” had to walk in empty-handed.

I guess empty-handed isn’t all that accurate. “The Cookie Mama” did walk in with three bottles of wine. How many did I walk out with????  Zero.  There were 8 adults in attendance so that really isn’t that much wine right?  Right.  Except that our gracious hosts had a plethora of other wines to choose from as well.  When all was said and done there were over a dozen of bottles of wine at the party…oh yeah there was beer too.  I am not going to say who drank what, but suffice to say more than one of us was over-served.  Additionally, two of us were REALLY hung over on Sunday, one of us was praying to the porcelain goddess on Sunday, one of us couldn’t stop singing Prince on Sunday, and four of us went to Meijer at 3 o’clock in the morning on Sunday to buy a pellet gun. Before anyone gets nervous, let me assure everyone that as a group, we firmly believe in safety first. All couples had negotiated (before the party)who the designated driver was.  All of the kids were fed dinner, and then looked after throughout the evening.  The adults attempted to keep the language and the music selections PG rated when the kids were in the room, and no one did anything they need to be embarrassed about.  No really…truly…it’s all good.

Pretty pedicured toes…notice mine are the only purple toe nails…hmmmmmm

The only thing weird that happened was that I uncovered a HUGE truth about myself.  I unlocked a deep dark secret…I finally figured out that I was Prince in a previous life.  Yes I know that Prince is still alive (thanks Shirl), so my only defense is a weird time and space paradox.  I mean think about it…have you ever seen Prince and me in the same room at the same time?  I didn’t think so. Here are the facts: I am vertically challenged, I love the color purple, I love to dance, I love to belt out tunes (“don’t make me sing”☺), I was pretty cool in the 80’s, and I have always thought that I was born in the wrong era…so I could totally be older than I chronologically am. You see it makes perfect sense, and it explains quite a lot. Agreed that it took an undisclosed amount of wine to finally connect the dots, but I am so glad that I did.  In lieu of my recent self discovery, I feel compelled to change my name.  Going forward I would like to be referred to as “her purple majesty”, or better yet “the Cookie Mama formerly known as ‘Prince’.”

Here is the link to the recipe that I used:http://www.othersideoffifty.com/2010/08/new-york-times-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

I do love these cookies, however, they are not my favorite.  I still love the “Wookiee Cookie recipe” that I featured in week 1 of my Cookie of the Week blog http://chris-cookieoftheweek.blogspot.com/2010/11/week-1-wookiee-cookies.html  I made one small modification to the recipe.  It calls for 1 1/2 tsp of coarse sea salt.  After last week’s salt mishap, I was hesitant to use that much.  I decreased the amount to 1 tsp and the cookies came out fine.  They are yummy and I am glad I tried them.  In the future if I want chocolate chips cookies, however, I would be reluctant to bake these again due to the chilling time required.  If I am making chocolate chip cookies, I want them today…not tomorrow or the next day.☺

Enjoy♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

