Veronica’s Veggie Meatloaf,Twice Baked Potatoes, and Cannoli Pie…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

This week I decided to make a cannoli pie.  The decision was very easy.  You see, my Dad has been hounding me to make cannolis for a few months. The problem is that I never remember to pick up the ingredients when I am at the grocery store, and the closest Kroger is 15 minutes from my house.  So it’s not like I can just pop in and pick up the ingredients and then make cannolis.   That said, I do plan to make cannolis this summer…stay tuned!  So to appease my Dad and to “semi-honor” his request on Father’s Day, I made a cannoli pie.  I came across the recipe while on-line and saved it,  knowing that I’d use it someday.  The recipe is REALLY EASY, and the pie is REALLY GOOD!  It tastes a bit like cannoli, but I have to admit that I prefer the real thing.  I am glad that I tried it though, as everyone who ate it really enjoyed it.  I did deviate from the recipe a bit though.  Before the pie is eaten, it has to be placed in the freezer for about 3 hours.  Then any left overs are supposed to be stored in the freezer as well.  I prefer a creamier texture, so I stored the left overs in the fridge.  I have to say that I liked the pie much better just cold and not frozen.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cannoli-pie/ The only issue I had with the pie, is that the graham cracker crust totally fell apart.  As I scooped the filling into the pie shell and attempted to spread it around, the crust crumbled.  It obviously didn’t alter the taste, but I like the food I make to look pretty in addition to tasting yummy.

I have made quite a few recipes over the last few weeks that I did not include in the blog.  In an attempt to cover all the new recipes I have experimented with thus far, I will just write a short paragraph about a few of them.  A few weeks ago, I made “Veronica’s Veggie Meatloaf.”  The recipe was created by Giada de Laurentiis for her mother Veronica, who is a vegetarian.  Well at least she used to be.  I saw this recipe probably about 6 or 7 years ago when Giada hosted the show “Everyday Italian” on The Food Network.  As she was making it, she shared that her Mom is a vegetarian and loved this recipe.  Since I saw that episode featuring Giada’s Mom and this recipe, I’ve seen a few other episodes where her Mom ate chicken, so maybe the veggie life style just didn’t fit.  Anyway, I love love love a good vegetarian recipe, so I knew I had to make this.  In fact I did make it right after I saw the show 6 or 7 years ago, but I haven’t made it since then.  I am glad that I made it again as it is super yummy.  It is a bit labor intensive though, but in my opinion, totally worth the extra work.  I like it so much that as we sat down to dinner I asked Dan (and myself) “why did I wait so long to make this again?”  After a few days it came back to me…the recipe feeds a lot of people. Due to the recipe resulting in such a large quantity, Dan and I have to eat a lot of it.  Ryan of course won’t eat it, and Victoria prefers a different recipe that I created for veggie meatloaf, so she is only good for a serving or 2 at most.  What happened both times I made it was Dan and I ate if for a few days and then just didn’t want it anymore.  I ended up throwing a chunk of it away as no one was interested in it any longer… me included.  That said, it is a great recipe, and I will definitely make it again…maybe in a few years. ☺ Here is a link to the recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/veronicas-veggie-meatloaf-with-checca-sauce-recipe/index.html

Also, a few weeks ago I made twice baked potatoes.  Big deal right?  Well to me it was, because it was another one of those dishes that I have eaten dozens of times, but never actually prepared.  I decided I wanted to give it a try, and they were YUMMY!  Victoria LOVED them so much that I’ve made them twice before including them in the blog today. It was pretty simple.  I micro-baked the potatoes first until they were tender.  Then for the “twice baked” part of the recipe, I used the oven.  I reviewed a few recipes before I made these, and decided to make my own filling versus following a recipe.  I used cream cheese, sour cream, feta cheese, garlic, salt, and pepper, and the quantities of each were to taste.  You can pretty much use whatever ingredients that your family likes.  I’d like to try these with broccoli and cheddar cheese next time, or maybe with asiago cheese, basil and red pepper flakes. I like this dish as you can totally alter the flavors to compliment the other components of your meal.  Here is a link to a recipe that I looked at…I didn’t use it, but it gave me the “how to” for this recipe. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/twice-baked-potatoes-recipe/index.html

I still have a few recipes that I’ve tried, but didn’t blog about yet, so I will try to include them over the next few weeks.  I hope you try the recipes, and I really hope you enjoy them as much as we did.  Happy Cooking!

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Italian, Pies, Savory and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

