Pasta Cheech and Kale Pesto Pasta…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

This week I decided to make 2 different Italian dishes.  The first decision was easy.  My Dad had some dental work done, and unfortunately it didn’t go well.  Long story short, he had a yucky infection that required a root canal and afterwards he wasn’t able to eat very much.  He was trying to stick to soft foods, so I decided to make him a pot of pasta cheech.  It is an Italian soup with chick peas, garlic, and acini de pepe noodles.  My Grandma Ann (my Dad’s Mom) used to make this all the time when I a little girl, and I remember eating it at her house.  She used to put mushrooms in her pasta cheech, but I don’t care for them so I always leave them out.  I love love love this soup…it is total comfort food to me.  It’s warm and garlicky, and super easy to make. I make it a few times a year, but the last few times I suggested it, Victoria talked me out of it.  When I made this batch she reluctantly tried some.  Then she said “…oh Mom, I don’t know why I thought I was tired of this soup…it is soooo delicious.  I love it!”  Thankfully my family (minus Ryan of course) loved it, and so did my Dad.  I like to eat pasta cheech with some grated parm on top…YUM!  The recipe I use is an old family secret so I can’t share it. ; )  If you ever want it, I will totally make it for you, but I won’t share the recipe. Here is a link to a similar recipe:http://wildernesspaddling.com/foodarecipes/recipes/supper/168-pasta-with-chick-peas.html  To make this recipe closer to my version, use acini de pepe noodles, and omit the chili peppers.

This week, I also made kale pesto pasta.  I love love love pesto sauce, and I make it every year with basil from my garden.  Last year my basil grew like crazy, so I froze a ton of pesto sauce, and gave it away to family and friends.  This year, however, my basil isn’t doing so well, but my kale is going nuts! So I decided to search for kale recipes, and came across this one.  I love that my kale is growing like mad, because I can actually keep my beloved kale chips in the house, and I’m able to keep my favorite kale soup (featured earlier in this blog) stocked in my freezer. This pesto recipe features kale and almonds and it is delicious!  This may be my “go to” pesto recipe from now on.  Well at least until my kale slows it’s roll.☺  Here is the link to the recipe that I used:  http://www.inspiredtaste.net/10216/kale-pesto-pasta-recipe/

As I type this, Victoria is enjoying her “girlfriend tea party and book swap.” She invited a few school friends over to celebrate her birthday and decided on a tea party and book swap theme.  So far the girls have munched on my delicious treats, opened gifts, played truth or dare, and laughed  A LOT!  It was everything a 12-year-old tea party and book swap should be.  I will most likely feature the tea party treats in my next blog.  I hope you try these yummy Italian recipes, and enjoy them as much as we did!  Mangia!

From L to R: Grandpa Gene, Me, Grandma Ann, and my cousin Mary Ann (Joseph) Thomas.

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Italian, Savory and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta Cheech and Kale Pesto Pasta…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. ryvichighlander says:

    This is by far, the best pesto I have ever had! Love it!

  2. Thanks Dan…I love it too! xo

Leave a Reply

