Popcorn with Herbs de Provence and Asiago Cheese and Almost Fat-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

Happy Halloween Everyone.  In the last week I was sort of hobbled with regards to my culinary adventures.  Prior to being thwarted, however, I did make perhaps the yummiest popcorn I have ever eaten … AND I MEAN EVER!  I was watching an episode of “Giada at Home”, and saw this recipe for popcorn with herbs de provence and asiago cheese.  I knew immediately that I had to make it.  I always have popcorn herbs de provence and asiago cheese in my kitchen, so this was a no brainer.  In retrospect, I’m glad that I was fortunate enough to be able to enjoy the popcorn a couple of times, before I was forced to abandon the recipe.   I made it for the first time while we watched the Lions game a few weekends ago.  Then I made it again for “date night.”  Dan and I had a “date night” in the great room while we screened the season opener of one of our favorite shows, “The Walking Dead.”  The popcorn is ridiculously yummy.  I will definitely make it again at some unknown time in the future.  Here is the link to the recipe: http://www.giadadelaurentiis.com/recipes/955/popcorn-with-herbs-de-provence-and-asiago-cheese

Okay so enough with the mystery.  Long story short,  I most likely need to have my gall bladder removed.  In case you don’t know, if you are having gall bladder issues,  a low-fat/fat-free diet is an excellent idea.  Since asiago cheese and olive oil are not considered low-fat, I have to refrain.  Figures doesn’t it?  You find a few things in life that actually bring you pleasure, and they are the very things you need to steer clear of…yep that’s my life.  I have been having issues since the summer, but didn’t know what it was.  After a few trips to the doctor, and some testing at the hospital, I have been told that it’s my gall bladder.  I have a meeting with a surgeon on the 12th, and until then I just have to deal.  I hate that I have to consciously consider every single thing I eat.  I mean don’t get me wrong, I do not eat with reckless abandon everyday, and I read labels religiously.  That said, I do enjoy a bowl of popcorn or some chocolate, and I never worry about the fat content if having a little treat.  Additionally, I have stated before that I don’t really care for certain fat-free foods, as in my experience those products usually have twice the amount of sugar, salt, or both to make up for the missing fat.  Items like cheese, sour cream, and dessert just taste better with a little fat in them.  Yes… I know there are healthier alternatives…blah blah blah.  I am talking dessert or popcorn every once in a while.  For those occasions, I do not read labels…I mean c’mon…just live a little….or like Victoria would say “YOLO!!!”  Anyway, until I have my gall bladder out, I am grounded…food grounded that is.  No eating out.  No oil.  No butter (and yes I am referring to real butter as I don’t use anything but real butter.  I will not feed my family chemically enhanced “good for you” alternatives.  We just use real butter real sparingly. Besides, I trust organic fed cows way more than I trust chemists anyway ☺).  No chocolate.  No popcorn (the way I like it).  Basically no eating without nausea and pain, because even though I’m following the low-fat/fat-free diet, I still have symptoms.  Sounds great right? I swear my vocabulary would be so limited without sarcasm ☺

Well, because I felt so limited, especially with Halloween approaching quick, I decided to “Google” some fat-free dessert recipes so I wouldn’t be totally left out.  My first inquiry was “fat-free chocolate chip cookies.”  As I stated many times before, chocolate chip cookies are my favorite dessert on the planet, so I decided to start there.  Surprisingly, I found a number of recipes.  I settled on one that seemed simple and got to work.  First let me just say that these are not really fat-free.  The dough is fat-free as the recipe omits butter and eggs, but it still has chocolate chips which contain fat.  I refuse to use carob as I LOVE the taste of real chocolate, so I decided to move forward and only use a small amount of the chocolate chips.  The result?  Yummy.  I will be honest and admit that they are not the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted, but for now they will suffice. So when my kids (and Dan☺) chow down on all their yummy Halloween treats, I will munch on a cookie… or two.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://www.bigoven.com/recipe/143223/fat-free-chocolate-chip-cookies

I hope you all try the recipes, they are pretty yummy…especially the popcorn.  Have a safe and happy Halloween, and please eat some candy for me.   Enjoy♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Cookies, Savory and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Popcorn with Herbs de Provence and Asiago Cheese and Almost Fat-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. Dean says:

    Crap! Hopefully you’ll get to keep your gall bladder. If removed will you be able to eat normal? Or still remain fat free? Hey at least you are due for some good luck! (Okay probably not, but I’d play the lotto once or twice…just in case!)

    • Nope it has to come out. If removed there is the possibility that I will have issues with certain foods, BUT I have that already so whatever. I am totally due for some good luck, but I wouldn’t bet on it!

Leave a Reply

