Chocolate Pumpkin Mini Muffins…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

Happy November everyone!  This week I decided to make some muffins.   I love love love  mini muffins, or as I like to call them, “two bite muffins.”  I haven’t been doing much cooking or baking as I am still having issues with my gall bladder.   I am, therefore, sticking to a pretty unadventurous and careful diet.  These muffins are low-fat, so I decided to make them.  I have made them multiple times in the past, but it has been awhile so I dusted off the recipe and got to work.  This recipe is ridiculously simple.  You simply mix one box of devil’s food cake mix with a 15 ounce can of pumpkin…that’s it!  The resulting muffins are moist, chocolaty, and delicious.  Here is the link to the recipe: http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=1437110

With all that’s been swirling around me lately, I have been pretty introspective the last few weeks.  I attribute most of it to a book I am reading titled “A New Earth, Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose” by Eckart Tolle.  It’s pretty deep.  I have always fancied myself a deep thinker…that is until I read this book.  Honestly, I can only take it in small amounts.  Those of you who know me, know that I am a really fast reader.  I mean I devour books.  This experience is different though.  I read this book, with a highlighter handy to highlight the really poignant parts, and I have to take frequent breaks to try to digest what I have just read.  Admittedly, I am not a very spiritual person, nor am I at all religious.  What I have come to learn about myself is that I am not really comfortable with organized religion anymore. I have seen too much, I have heard too much, and you cannot un-ring that proverbial bell.  Don’t misunderstand. I do not, and would not begrudge or disrespect anyone who is religious, or belongs to a religious community.  All I ask, is that the same respect be shown for my beliefs.  Anyway, what I am attempting is to become more spiritual.  What I mean is that I, like many people, am on a quest for some inner peace.  I am starting with this book, and I am hopeful that I will find my way.

The most difficult part for me on this little journey is that I live in a world full of people.  Beautiful, infuriating, people.  In the last few months I have seen quite an ugly side to  people, and it is disheartening to say the least.  A few weeks ago, I came across a quote that really resonated with me.  It goes like this… “Sometimes we expect more from others, because we would be willing to do that much for them.”  After much reflection, I think that the reason that I expect the best from others, is because I try really hard to always give my best.  Yes, it’s a nice sentiment, but in my experience, it’s not that realistic.  In fact, it leads to a ton of disappointment and heartache…at least where I am concerned anyway.  The worst part actually, is that people still have the ability to surprise me with their mean spiritedness and negativity.  I mean come on… I have spent 41 years on this planet, and yet I am still taken aback?  Yep. I am.

Again, I think it’s due to the fact that I would never be rude, disrespectful, or mean on purpose.  I do not willfully and knowingly attack someone with my words.  Oh sure I talk a big game, I vent like crazy, and I swear like a drunken sailor.  When push comes to shove, however, I don’t strike.  I am not afraid to confront, nor am I afraid to have an uncomfortable conversation. That is not at all what I am referring to.  I am talking about being mean and hateful  just because. I don’t get people like that.  I probably never will.  I mean come on!  The world is tough enough already.  Do you really want to add to the negativity and toxicity with YOUR actions and words?  For those unfortunate souls who can answer “yes” to that question, my next question is simply “why???”

Of course I could put on my psychotherapist’s hat, call upon all my training, and probably offer a semi reasonable explanation.  I won’t though.  Why??  Because in my opinion, it is not necessary to wound others on purpose…period. I try to live my life by the following quote by the Dalai Lama: “Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.” Exactly.  It’s okay if you cannot help others, but for the love of all that’s holy, please, and I am begging here, please…don’t hurt them just because you can.  It really doesn’t seem that hard. It doesn’t require a whole lot.  In my opinion, it requires only kindness.  Basic human civility.   That’s it.  If we could all think before we speak, and choose our words in the spirit of kindness, what a different place the world would be.

In closing, I would like to share yet another quote by the Dalai Lama that I really love.  It goes like this: “Whether one believes in a religion or not, and whether one believes in rebirth or not, there isn’t anyone who doesn’t appreciate kindness and compassion.”  My thoughts exactly.  I hope you try the muffins…they are delicious.  Have a wonderful November.  I hope it is filled with good food, family, and some much deserved peace.  ♥♥

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Bread / Muffins, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Pumpkin Mini Muffins…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama.

  1. Thank you for this. You and I are traveling such similar paths (and I, too, swear like a drunken sailor!). I just heard a religious leader say the other day that God (in whatever form you see Him) is too big to fit into one religion. I like that idea. So much persecution and judgment (in my humble opinion) is done in the name of religion that it’s put a bad taste in my mouth. If we could all go back to “Love your neighbor as you love yourself,” I think we’d all be better off.

    Pumpkin and chocolate, huh? I might just have to try those… 🙂

  2. Thank you Katrina. I agree. “Love your neighbor” is an excellent sentiment. I also love “Judge not lest ye be judged!” You should totally try the muffins. YUM

Leave a Reply

