“Pear Me With Greens” Smoothie, Crepes, and Apple Raisin Bars…made with l♥ve by the Cookie Mama

Happy March!  It has been awhile since I posted an entry, but man, oh man, has it been crazy over here.  First of all, we had the dreaded “stomach flu” in our house!  Victoria was the first victim, and then poor Ryan succumbed as well.  Since the kids were sick, and not eating much solid food, I didn’t feel the need to cook a whole lot, or blog.  I mean who wants to read about vegan jello, Gatorade, and saltine crackers?  Not to mention all the yummy details regarding cleaning and sanitizing bathrooms.  YUCK!  Thankfully, both kids are much better, and I have resumed my love affair with my kitchen.   The first recipe is for a smoothie titled”pear me with greens.”  Dan and I actually started a 30 day “green smoothie challenge.”  It is not a diet, a cleanse, or a fast. It simply is a way in which to increase your consumption of whole raw foods.  Since we are vegetarians, this is not a foreign concept.  That said, I never drank my spinach, celery, or cucumber before.   The smoothie challenge is promoted by a group called “Young and Raw.”  I was introduced to the group by Ryan’s former first grade teacher, Mrs. Lillie.  When Ry was in her class, I used to share my vegetarian/vegan/raw recipes with her as her family was interested in some alternative eating.  Long story short, she and her husband are now completely dairy, and gluten free eaters.  A few weeks ago, we were comparing culinary notes, and she introduced me to the smoothie challenge.  It sounded interesting, so Dan and I decided to give it a shot.

Unfortunately, although we liked the challenge, my kidneys did not!  True to form, I got to day 5 and my kidneys went ballistic.  I have known for a while that I have some sort of absorption issue with regards to vitamins and minerals, but apparently it’s a bit worse than DSCN7419I thought.  I know that I cannot take vitamins and supplements in a pill or powder form, but until now, I have always been okay drinking my vitamins.  I drink a “Vitamin Water Zero” everyday as I cannot tolerate the pills and I do just fine it.  I never thought drinking organic, raw, fruits and veggies would do me in, but I was wrong.  I would definitely make the smoothies again, but I probably won’t drink one everyday.  It’s unfortunate because drinking the smoothies made me feel pretty good, and they were delicious…apparently, it is possible to have too much of a good thing.  Here is a link to the smoothie recipe: http://hooperschallenge.com/tag/pear-me-with-greens/  If you are interested in taking the 30 smoothie challenge, check out Young and Raw’s Facebook page.

DSCN7440

Caite, Victoria, Me, and Angela working on the cooking badge ☺

The second recipe is for crepes.  I have never made crepes, or as Dan likes to call them  “German pancakes” before now.  I’d only eaten crepes twice in my life before I actually made them.  I ate them for the first time last summer at at a place called “La Crepe du Jour.”  It is a little restaurant at River Place in Frankenmuth.  It is a french themed restaurant and it is super cute.  We actually got 3 crepes that day and split them between the four of us.  We ordered a 4 cheese crepe, a strawberry Nutella crepe, and a brown sugar cinnamon crepe…DELICIOUS!  If you are ever in Frankenmuth, you should totally check this place out.  Here is a link to some info about La Crepe du Jour: http://www.mlive.com/entertainment/saginaw/index.ssf/2012/01/la_crepe_du_jour_brings_a_touc.html  The reason I even tried to make crepes at home is because my Girl

My strawberry Nutella crepe...before I rolled it up...YUM

My strawberry Nutella crepe…before I rolled it up…YUM

Scout troop wanted to make them.  They were working on a cooking badge, and as part of the badge work, they had to prepare a recipe popular in another country. They chose to make German pancakes aka crepes.  Incidentally, if you are ever in France crepes are pronounced “kreps,” not “krapes” like we say here in the States.  If you don’t believe me, just ask Giada de Laurentiis.  On her show “Giada at Home,” she kept saying “kreps” and I thought she was an idiot until I “googled” it ☺ Anyway, I was excited for the girls to make them as I had never made before either.  The result?  Total deliciousness with a side of awesome!  The girls chose to make the crepes, and used a ton of different toppings…blueberry preserves, strawberry preserves, strawberries and Nutella, peanut butter and Nutella, brown sugar and cinnamon,  and cream cheese and veggie sausage.  The girls enjoyed them so much that we had to make a second batch, and then I made a third batch so that my family could enjoy them the next day.  Needless to say, I am a crepe enthusiast and will happily add them to the rotation of fun yummy foods we make at home.    I think my favorite part was watching the girls flip the crepes in the air, and then catch them in the pan.  Ryan even got in on the flipping action.  Of course we did drop a few, but the kids had a great time and learned to have some fun whilst making something delicious! Here is our recipe for crepes:

Crepes (Makes 14 Crepes)

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1/2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp Butter, melted
  • Butter for sauteing

 1. Place all the ingredients in a blender and puree.
2. Refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight (this helps the bubbles to settle and the crepes not to tear).
3. Grease a saute pan or crepe pan with butter. Pour in 2 tbsp of batter and swirl to cover the pan.
4. Cook for 1 minutes, flip and continue to cook another 30 seconds or until just starting to become golden.
5. Remove to a plate and continue to make remaining crepes.
6. Spread with favorite filling.
7. Roll into a cigar shape.
8. Serve

The third recipe I tried was for apple raisin bars. I came across the recipe in Family Circle’s October 2011 issue. It looked interesting and I wanted to make something sweet so I DSCN7544selected it.  I am happy to report that the bars were yummy.  Everyone loved them.  I thought they were good, but I have to admit that I prefer apple pie and apple bread to these bars.  That said, they were yummy, and I’d make again if the Fam requested them.  Here is a link to the recipe: http://honestcooking.com/2011/10/03/cooking-the-magazines-apple-raisin-bars-recipe/

I am happy that the house is back to it’s “relatively normal” state.  I hate it when the kids are sick, and I especially hate it when it’s the kind of sickness that interferes with my ability to cook for them.  I have said many times before that I nurture those that are near and dear to me with my cooking.  So to not be able to cook and bake for my family saddens me.  In addition to the kids being sick, there was a lot of drama that took place in the last few weeks.  So much drama that I thought I got the kids’ stomach bug.  I have learned that I react viscerally to chaos and drama, and given enough of it, I will get physically ill.  That’s how last week went.  So in addition to the kids feeling better, I am happy to report that I am feeling better too.  What better way to celebrate than experiment with new recipes, and nurture my family.  I hope you enjoy the recipes, we sure did.  ♥♥

DSCN7556

Rainbow over the back of our property : )

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Bread / Muffins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

