Summertime treats..made with l♥ve by The Cookie Mama

Hello again!  So I go for a few months without any posts, and now I post twice in one week??? Go figure.  Anyway, this post is dedicated to the summertime treats that I made for the family and their friends. 🙂

The first recipe was for cinnamon bites. IMG_4033Both of the kids were having friends over, and I wanted to make a sweet treat for them to enjoy.  I chose this recipe because it was simple, I had all the ingredients, and it only took a few minutes to put together.  The kids were swimming so I needed to be on the deck to supervise, and this dessert was perfect.  I threw it together, popped it in the oven, and then just hung out on the deck watching the kids have fun until it was done.  All the kids loved this dessert, and when Dan got home from work, he enjoyed it too.  The best part was probably the heavenly aroma that filled my house.  When the parents came to pick up their children, they  commented on how great my house smelled.  I will definitely make this dessert again.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://bevandcuisine.com/2014/05/23/cinnamon-roll-bites-1-roll-refrigerator-biscuits-3t-butter-melted-1t-cinnamon-14c-brown-sugar-mix-brown-sugar-and-cinnamon-in-bowl-cut-each-biscuit-into-4-peices-drop-into-bowl-toss-to-coat-well/

DSCN0878The next recipe was for apple pie dip. I love love love me an apple pie, and this reminds me of a deconstructed apple pie.  It was really YUMMY, and my family loved it.  Okay so Ryan didn’t love the dip, but he liked the cinnamon sugar pita chips. It has the same flavor profile as an apple pie minus the crust. It is by no means a substitute for apple pie though, because I happen to LOVE pie crust.   That said, it was super quick to make, and I would definitely make it again.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://www.thepeachkitchen.com/2011/09/apple-pie-party-dip-cinnamon-sugar-tortilla-chips/   The only substitution I made was that I used store bought cinnamon sugar pita chips.

The next recipe was for chocolate chip strawberry shortcake.photo 1 (2) I make strawberry shortcake every single summer, but this year I decided to switch it up a bit.  I found this recipe on Pinterest, so I decided to test it out when I made my annual  summer strawberry shortcake.  The result?  O.M.G.  Heavenly.  I will never make strawberry shortcake any other way.  The actual cakes were really yummy even without the berries and whipped cream.  My family really enjoyed this recipe and I will totally make it again next summer.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/30361/chocolate-chip-strawberry-shortcake/

IMG_4024The last recipe (I definitely saved the best for last this time) was for Nutella ice cream!  What the what???  Yes…you read that correctly NUTELLA ICE CREAM!  SWOON.  I have to say that this may be one of the best desserts that I have ever made.  It is for certain the best ice cream I have ever made.  Since the first time I made this heavenly delight, I have made it three more times.  Everyone LOVES this ice cream.  Even Dan who doesn’t care for Nutella, enjoys this ice cream. I know, I know, Dan doesn’t like Nutella…he’s crazy right??? This ice cream is creamy and decadent, and I am totally obsessed with it. I have made several Nutella themed desserts before like brownies, a few different cookies, and muffins, but this one takes the cake…hahaha dessert pun totally intended 😉  I will definitely make this ice cream again.  In fact, I have some in the freezer right now.  Here is the link to the recipe that I used: http://www.scoopadventures.com/nutella-ice-cream/

I have many more recipes to share with you, and I plan to post again soon.  In the meantime, do yourself a favor, and run to your grocery store immediately to buy the ingredients for the Nutella ice cream.  You do need an ice cream maker, but I promise it will totally pay for itself.  After you taste the Nutella ice cream, you will make it again and again and again! I got my ice cream maker at Kohl’s, and it wasn’t expensive at all.  I don’t use it all that often, but it really is fun to make ice cream at home.  If you cannot bring yourself to buy an ice cream maker, just let me know, and we can have an ice cream social at my place. I’ll make the Nutella ice cream, and you can bring the toppings.  FYI, I don’t top my Nutella ice cream with anything, because it is so darn good all on its own.  I hope you enjoy the recipes, we sure did.  Take care! ♥

 

Epic hair flips

Epic hair flips

IMG_4078

Summer play dates rock!!

About THE cookie mama

I am not professionally trained in any way shape or form, BUT I come from a long line of really great cooks. I learned mostly by watching my parents and grandparents, and then replicating what they did. I love love love to cook and bake, and I love to share what I make with "my people."
This entry was posted in Bread / Muffins, Cakes, Chocolate, Pies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment